King's College London

Course Introduction

This Postgraduate Diploma in Advanced Practice is the professional qualification for nurses who wish to gain entry to part three of the NMC nursing register as a health visitor or school nurse. Places on this programme are sponsored centrally through service commissioners and in partnership with health visiting and school nursing service providers.

Benefits of the Postgraduate Diploma in Advanced Practice include:

No.1 Nursing Faculty in the UK and 3rd in the world (2017 QS World University Rankings)

Completion of clinically'focused evidence'based core modules.

Access to lecturers who are active researchers in health visiting and school nursing.

Access to extracurricular seminars and lectures given by leaders in healthcare from around the world.

Located in the heart of London, across four of King's Thames'side campuses (Waterloo, Strand, St Thomas' and Guy's) and the Denmark Hill Campus in south London.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
1 year
Full Time
Postgraduate Diploma - PgDip
2 years
Part Time
Postgraduate Diploma - PgDip

Qualifications required:

  • Visit our admissions webpages to view our English language entry requirements.
  • The normal entry requirement for graduate study is a Bachelor's degree with minimum 2:1 honours (or overseas equivalent). Applicants with other backgrounds or qualifications, including those without a first degree, can be considered. If you do not meet the normal entry requirements or you have only the minimum academic standard you should pay particular attention in preparing your supporting statement and CV to ensure that you draw attention to evidence of potential success at graduate level. This might include publications, preparation of substantial reports or active participation in service development initiatives or funded research.
  • Applicants wishing to enrol on this pathway must have secured sponsorship from a community healthcare organisation for the duration of the programme. Applicants must be a qualified or newly registered level 1 nurse (all branches) or midwife.