London Metropolitan University

Course Introduction

This innovative course emphasises both digital and analogue photography and is one of the UK's few art schools to offer both colour and black'and'white darkroom facilities. You'll benefit from practical studio and workshop sessions, exhibition opportunities as well as photography related theory. The team of tutors, including Susan Andrew, Mick Williams and Spencer Rowell, are all active practitioners making and showing their work regularly nationally and internationally and support both a hands'on and a critical approach to the subject. There are regular collaborations with local arts groups including Alternative Arts, Courses by subject area 87 Photomonth festival and Four Corners Film and Photography. The association with the highly active alumni collective, Uncertain States, offers you additional opportunities to take part in photographic talks, events and exhibitions. Added value: Our East End Photographic Archive project, based in the photography department, offers an exceptional research resource for students and professionals at all levels.

Course Modules

Year 1 topics include: Ways of seeing; representation; photographing art; documenting art; photography skills; what does an artist do?; 100 years since large glass; Roland Barthes; Jeff Wall; Diarmuid Costello. Year 2 topics include: Appropriating art; chance and systems; art and the archive; the sublime; participation and relational art; the everyday; art manifestos; photography skills; presentation skills; work as an artist; the zone of freedom. Year 3 topics include: Exhibition display; final project; dissertation; final show.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
3 years
Full Time
BA (Hons)
6 years
Part Time
BA (Hons) £1,910 ???home???

Qualifications required:

  • International Baccalaureate 28
  • Tariff 112
  • Interview
  • SQA Higher
  • GCE A-level
  • BTEC National Diploma MMD
  • SQA Advanced Higher
  • GCE AS-level
  • BTEC National Certificate (12 units) DD
  • GCSE/SQA Standard Grade
  • Course specific
  • OCR National Certificate (6 Units)
  • OCR National Diploma (12 Units)
  • OCR National Extended Diploma (18 Units)