London Metropolitan University

Course Introduction

If you want to learn how to prevent and detect IT security breaches, from hacking to fraud, then this is the course for you. You'll take classes in our cutting'edge laboratories, which are part of our Cisco Networking Academy.

Course Modules

Year 1 topics include: programming; communications engineering; information systems; networking concepts (CCNA 1 & 2). Year 2 topics include: LAN and WAN (CCNA 3 & 4); security in computing; networks and operating systems; risk, crisis and security management; professional issues, ethics and computer law. Year 3 topics include: project; computer and network security (Cisco); wireless networks (Cisco); network planning and simulation. Options include: long work related learning; long work placement; digital crime investigation; distributed and internet systems; network and cloud security.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
3 years
Full Time
BSc (Hons)
4 - 6 years
Part Time Day
BSc (Hons)

Qualifications required:

  • International Baccalaureate 28
  • Tariff 80
  • SQA Higher
  • GCE A-level
  • BTEC National Diploma PMM
  • SQA Advanced Higher
  • GCE AS-level
  • BTEC National Certificate (12 units) MD
  • Course specific
  • GCSE/SQA Standard Grade
  • OCR National Certificate (6 Units)
  • OCR National Diploma (12 Units) D
  • OCR National Extended Diploma (18 Units)