University of West London

Course Introduction

We are the best University in London for Forensic Science (Complete University Guide 2017), and rank in the top 25 for this subject in the whole of the UK. We've achieved this by combining cutting'edge facilities with an innovative range of learning methods, including practicing your learning in our state'of'the'art crime scene rooms.

Course Modules

Year 1 (Foundation Year): essential chemistry for forensic science; essential biology for forensic science; personal and professional development; academic writing; researching and presenting; skills for health: ICT; skills for health: numeracy and data handling. Year 2 (Level 4): introduction to forensic science; the criminal process; building blocks of life ; introduction to pharmacology; chemistry for the biosciences; human body: form and function Year 3 (Level 5): disease and the human body; forensic investigation of crime; molecular biology ; research methods ; pharmacology; analytical methods. Year 3 (Level 6): drugs of abuse; forensic assessment and examination techniques; physiological control; project/dissertation; experiential learning in science.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
4 years
Full Time Including Foundation Year
BSc £9,350 ???abroad???
4 years
Full Time Including Foundation Year
BSc £9,000 ???home???

Qualifications required:

  • International Baccalaureate
  • Tariff 72
  • GCE AS-level
  • BTEC National Certificate (12 units)
  • BTEC National Diploma
  • BTEC National Award
  • GCE A-level
  • SQA Higher
  • SQA Advanced Higher
  • GCSE/SQA Standard Grade
  • OCR Certificate for IT Professionals
  • OCR L3 Certificate in Mathematics for Engineers
  • OCR National Certificate (6 Units)
  • OCR National Diploma (12 Units)
  • OCR National Extended Diploma (18 Units)
  • OCR Diploma for IT Professionals
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Certificate
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Specialist Award
  • BTEC Level 3 Specialist Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Specialist Extended Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Specialist Diploma