University of West London

Course Introduction

Studying with us will be an exciting experience. We deliver a high quality, dynamic, adult nursing programme within a state'of'the'art learning environment. Our teaching and learning is delivered in conjunction with our partners in the NHS, the voluntary and independent sectors, thus aligning your practical experiences with your academic study. This will ensure that you gain the skills and experience required to deliver effective healthcare within the current health and social care arena.

Course Modules

Year One (Level 4): essential skills for higher education and healthcare; SEARCH for health; life span development; promoting individual health; fundamentals of nursing practice; protection of vulnerable people; introduction to professional practice; pre requisite course requirement: professional practice portfolio. Year Two (Level 5): becoming an effective professional practitioner; understanding altered physiology; principles of pharmacology and medicines management; nursing practice and decision making 1; introduction to public health; developing professional practice; pre requisite course requirement: professional practice portfolio. Year Three (Level 6): research in practice; evaluating and advancing nursing practice; nursing practice and decision making 2; leading and managing care services; advancing nursing skills; autonomous professional practice; pre requisite course requirement; professional practice portfolio.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
3 years
Full Time
BSc (Hons)

Qualifications required:

  • Tariff 112-120
  • International Baccalaureate
  • Interview
  • GCE AS-level
  • BTEC National Certificate (12 units)
  • BTEC National Diploma
  • BTEC National Award
  • GCE A-level
  • SQA Higher
  • SQA Advanced Higher
  • CRB check required
  • GCSE/SQA Standard Grade
  • OCR Certificate for IT Professionals
  • OCR L3 Certificate in Mathematics for Engineers
  • OCR National Certificate (6 Units)
  • OCR National Diploma (12 Units)
  • OCR National Extended Diploma (18 Units)
  • OCR Diploma for IT Professionals
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Certificate
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma
  • Course specific