University of West London

Course Introduction

As a student studying Learning Disabilities Nursing you will learn from highly qualified and skilled staff, ensuring that your period of study is both challenging and rewarding. The course has been developed with practice colleagues and there is a 50 percent theory and 50 percent practice component with assessments for both elements. The learning experience will be in a variety of practice settings. This will include acute inpatient care units, private hospitals, residential homes, respite units, nursing homes and community nursing teams

Course Modules

Year 1 (Level 4): Essential skills for higher education and healthcare; search for health; life span development; promoting individual health; fundamentals of nursing practice; protection of vulnerable people; introduction to professional practice; pre requisite course requirement professional practice portfolio. Year 2 (Level 5): Becoming an effective professional practitioner; understanding altered physiology; principles of pharmacology and medicines management; nursing practice and decision making 1; introduction to public health; developing professional practice; pre requisite course requirement professional practice portfolio. Year 3 (Level 6): Research in practice; evaluating and advancing nursing practice; nursing practice and decision making 2; leading and managing care services; advancing nursing skills; autonomous professional practice; pre requisite course requirement; professional practice portfolio.

Duration & Attendance Qualification Tuition fees Fee type
3 years
Full Time
BSc (Hons)

Qualifications required:

  • Tariff 112-120
  • Interview
  • International Baccalaureate
  • GCE AS-level
  • BTEC National Certificate (12 units)
  • BTEC National Diploma
  • BTEC National Award
  • GCE A-level
  • SQA Higher
  • SQA Advanced Higher
  • CRB check required
  • GCSE/SQA Standard Grade
  • OCR Certificate for IT Professionals
  • OCR L3 Certificate in Mathematics for Engineers
  • OCR National Certificate (6 Units)
  • OCR National Diploma (12 Units)
  • OCR National Extended Diploma (18 Units)
  • OCR Diploma for IT Professionals
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Certificate
  • BTEC Scottish Higher National Diploma
  • BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma
  • Course specific